Top of Page

Announcement of 2017-2018 U.S. ATLAS Distinguished Researchers

Each year, the U.S. ATLAS Center (ATC) at Argonne National Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory host distinguished researchers in a program to foster physics collaboration and enhance U.S. contributions to the ATLAS physics program. The U.S. Distinguished Researchers play an important role in the life of the ATC as outside guests who bring new ideas and projects. The selected researchers have proposed to use the resources available at one of the ATC Centers to make major contributions to ATLAS in the areas of physics analysis but also play a leading role in organizing ATC and U.S. ATLAS analysis activities.

The U.S. ATLAS Distinguished Researchers for 2017-2018 are listed below with their proposed projects:

  • Keith Baker (Yale University) will work at the BNL ATC, to test and study the performance of novel silicon sensors that are being considered for use in the ATLAS Phase-II upgrade for tracking and timing detectors. This activity includes a demonstration of irradiation capabilities at the Brookhaven Linac Isotope Producer (BLIP) Facility.
  • Swagato Banerjee (University of Louisville) will work at LBNL ATC, studying technical improvements for the Inner Tracker simulation and physics performance of secondary vertex reconstruction with new detector layout for the Phase II upgrade.
  • Carlo Dallapiccola (University of Massachusetts) will work at the BNL ATC along with PhD Student Guy Rosin, to design silicon strip module quality control specifications for the Phase 2 upgrade of the inner detector, the new Inner Tracker (ITk).
  • Phillip Gutierrez (University of Oklahoma) will be performing studies of various silicon pixel sensors at Fermilab for possible use in the Phase 2 ATLAS inner tracker upgrade.
  • Ben Hooberman (University of Illinois) will play a leading role in the FTK project through building and commissioning, firmware development, and simulation, for the FTK Second-Stage Boards (SSBs), which perform track extrapolation and fitting and duplicate removal before outputting the final FTK tracks. FTK is currently being installed and commissioned in ATLAS and will operate throughout Phase I.
  • Shih-Cheih Hsu (University of Washington) will be pursuing searches for Beyond Standard Model physics using Jet Substructure techniques and development of the high-speed data acquisition system for the ITk pixel readout chip.
  • Xiangyang Ju (University of Wisconsin) will work on the Phase 2 upgrade of the pixel detector for the HL-LHC, particularly on building a wafer-probing station, designing and fabricating a probe card, and performing electronic tests on RD53A chips.
  • Peter Loch (University of Arizona) will continue to support research in jet substructure and jet origin tagging in the context of the U.S. ATLAS Hadronic Final State Forum with his award, with a focus on the application of modern machine learning techniques at today's and future (high luminosity) operations of the ATLAS experiment at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). In addition, he will organize lectures on fundamental aspects of calorimetry in ATLAS.
  • Masahiro Morii (Harvard University) is working on the ATLAS Phase 2 Inner Tracker (ITk) upgrade, developing methods and tools used in the barrel silicon-strip stave assembly facility at BNL.
  • Gabriella Sciolla (Brandeis University) and her group (Hannah Herde, Laura Bergsten, Prajita Bahttarai, Alyssa Garcia, and Catherine Nicoloff) are working in close collaboration with the BNL team to build and calibrate the ITk Stave Assembly. This is the instrument that will be used to assemble 50% of the silicon strip detectors for the ATLAS barrel tracker in Phase 2. The Brandeis group is also heavily involved in building and testing the first thermo-mechanical and electrical stave prototypes for the ITk strip detector. Finally, members of the Brandeis group are collaborating with BNL on studies of Higgs —> WW and vector boson scattering (VBS) in WW final states.

We congratulate all of the Distinguished Researchers and look forward to collaborating with them on their activities.